When cleanup fails and tells me that I need to run cleanup

Huh? Normally I wouldn’t write a post like this because I don’t have a solution. But this one is just too funny in its own stupid way.

Yesterday I needed to commit a simple change to a project, and we use TortoiseSVN. Before that, I had to do an update because my colleague had made an unrelated change to the same page. This was an ASP.Net project. Then there were some unrelated conflicts. For whatever unknown reason, it always screws up the publishing profile. I lose my password for the remote machine. So I resolved the conflict. I published the site. Then I want to commit the simple change… just two files. And lo and behold, I get the error displayed in the screenshot. But I get that error for anything I try to do in TortoiseSVN, including cleanup.

When I find a solution, I’ll probably add it. This is not too big a deal right now, because it’s only a tiny change and not the main project I’m working on. One solution would be to delete the whole directory… make a new repository and download all the code from scratch. Not the end of the world because I can back up my tiny change and then overwrite the files. So this is not a train-stopper… It’s just annoying. (And more than a little annoying because I have some configuration files in the directory tree that I never commit. So I’d have to back up quite a few files, but that solution will probably work.)

Cleanup

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Programming, Work and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

