Spammers need better targeting algorithms

I don’t check this blog’s stats much; my other blog is the one I focus more on these days. Since I just published something here, I decided to clean up the spam.

Why would you auto-spam a programming blog, in South Africa, with something about “cheap eggs UK”? For that matter, why would you target any blogs with spam about fucking buying eggs? If you want to get some cheap-ass eggs, do you scan random WordPress blogs to find them, for fuck’s sake?

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spammers need better targeting algorithms

  1. K. says:

    Blog spam doesn’t work very well anymore. The spam targets google bots not blog readers. The keywords ‘uk eggs’ in this case may have little to nothing to do with the spam link. Sometimes there isn’t even a link, you’d think it’s useless but it’s there because google bots have evolved simple link scanning. They are still easy to fool, that’s why blog spam is full of garbage.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

