Feeling like an imposter again

Sheesh… I read a few programming blogs, but one of them always ends up making me feel really stupid. Eric Lippert, I hate you! … OK, maybe I don’t, but the guy writes the most beautiful, concise code I have ever seen, and every time I read it, even if it’s the silliest, most simple example, I have to read it again, and again before I understand it. It makes me feel really dumb every time.

I do read quickly, and most of the time, whether I’m reading one of my favourite sceptic’s blogs or about the latest in medicine, I do understand it right away, but something about Mr Lippert’s posts is always just out of my brain’s reach, and that’s ironic because C# development is what I specialize in. I don’t know if this is a case of the imposter syndrome or if I am really just not as intelligent as I should be, but it always intimidates me…

Here’s a link to his latest post that makes me feel dumb. Even his English is better than mine; in terms of both grammar and vocabulary. In a comment to a question today, he stated that the algorithm he presented was “the most pedagogically interesting”. I had to look up “pedagogically”.

So if you too read programming blogs and come away from them feeling more stupid, rather than wiser, you are not alone.

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in General, Programming and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

