Idiot programmers are more common than you think

It’s always amused me that there are so many stupid programmers here in Johannesburg since they made job interviews really easy for me. But I never realized that that, unlike the stupid programmers here who can’t even write code, there is also a special breed of programmers who can write code, but clearly have shit for brains.

Case in point, today Raymond Chen wrote a blog to answer a strange question from a dim-witted developer who wanted to write a program that generates all possible GUIDs. (Actually I couldn’t resist commenting there… scroll down to the bottom for my comment, or search the page for “thinking outside the box”…) Here’s a similar question on Stack Overflow.

What amazes me is that when people get answers telling them that the operation they would like to do will take more years than the current age of the universe, and the mass required to store the data on SSDs would be equal to that of 100 Earth-sized planets, they still persist to ask the same question…. But that’s why I asked to make the program faster… duh.

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Programming and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

