You just can’t win

I don’t get it… Normally our burn-down is more of a burn-up… This time, it’s so well and truly on the line it looks almost like it’s not real – like we did this deliberately! I would have thought it doesn’t get any better than this! I am way ahead on the development – way ahead… and I took yesterday off to go to a family funeral.

But still our scrum master is unhappy. I don’t care if it looks tight because our testers estimated 15 hours for tasks that I reckon could be done in 10 minutes. I created around 15 dev tasks, with no fat in, for one hour each, and then still merged and removed some of them. I did way more work than I intended – virtually all the dev is already done (all of it by myself and I am sure there are no bugs) and there are still two weeks left.

In fact I am waiting on the business analysis because I’ve found some discrepancies between the file and the specification, but I did the dev anyway, and will just refactor next week if I have to.

So I wonder what’s wrong. Maybe this is too perfect?

graph

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Programming and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You just can’t win

  1. Cindy says:

    Ha, that burndown certainly does look suspiciously ‘perfect’! Maybe your scrum master is concerned because there’s not a lot of spare capacity to deal with something going wrong? But if the team is feeling confident then that’s more important than graphs and figures anyway, in my opinion.

    Like

    • Jerome says:

      Thanks. My feeling is that the test analysts have planned for too many hours anyway, because they are lazy; often spending too much time playing games rather than doing actual work. (I’m just as lazy, but became a programmer because I find programming more fun than playing games anyway.) I can’t say it to them directly (or at least it doesn’t help much). My work is far ahead partly because I prototyped a lot in advance while we were still planning the previous week, and partly because I work in bursts. Besides, I might get just as much idle time as them, but I’ll be more comfortable having it at the end of the sprint, knowing everything is working. (Then maybe I can prototype on the code for the next sprint.) Things did work out very nicely for me this time. Besides some renaming, I used my prototype code as is. Of course it seldom works out that way.

      Like

Leave a Reply

