On Windows 8, insanity, painting and idiots

It occurred to me that this blog’s header promises the occasional descent into madness, but I haven’t done that for a while. So now is as good a time as any, right?

Last weekend I finally bought a new PC. I was sick of my 1.5GB memory and all the time-wasting that it caused. I could make a cup of coffee while waiting for a new tab to load in the browser… 12 GB is so much better.

Only thing is… I had to upgrade to Windows 8, and I’d read various people’s complaints about it being so very different, that they were lost. I’d never even seen it, so I’m more than a little surprised. Um, so Microsoft shuffled a couple of GUI elements around. So what? Using it is almost exactly the same as it used to be if you normally run programs directly or even if you work from Windows Explorer, and they didn’t remove any of the Windows Key shortcuts. Sure, if you spend your days in Windows 7 scrolling around in the start menu, you’ll be a little lost… but if you spend your days scrolling through the start menu, you’re pretty fucked up to begin with.

And if you are a programmer and you don’t find your way around Window 8 in less than 2 minutes, you probably shouldn’t be programming. You should be grazing in a pasture somewhere with all your bovine brothers and sisters.

The only thing I miss about Windows 7 is Aero Glass, which I thought was cool. Of course, there are many idiots out there who are spending a great deal of effort hacking Glass into Windows 8. I thought that was hilarious when I found out. I mean, if you want Glass, just run Windows 7! What the fuck is wrong with you?

Lately I have been playing around with Photoshop – creating a better-looking logon background screen for Windows 7. I guess that ends now. I’d never actually used the painting tools much in Photoshop, and they’re actually kind of cool. In fact, they feel quite similar to painting for real. (Although honestly I find painting with actual oil paint and physical brushes considerably easier.)

Here’s what my latest modification of the Win 7 background looks like:

Overcooked

Anyway, the feature is built into my RomyView application.

Mostly in the wavy line things… I added lots of highlights, by manually painting them. The result is quite similar to what you get when painting for real. I need to get back to that… Anyway, you can see what I mean if you compare it to my actual oil paintings.

That post is on my meth recovery blog. Actually I only ever painted for about 2 years, and only started in my late thirties. I think I should get back to it, but I honestly am not certain if I have the right temperament for it. That is, I know I am lucky enough to have a gift for it, but I don’t know if I have the patience. All my paintings were done under the influence of copious amounts of methamphetamine. And it’s all very well to painstakingly add layer upon layer of oil paint while you are a meth zombie and tweaking yourself to kingdom come… but in a normal state of mind? I don’t know if I can still do it.

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

