This environment is driving me mad

It’s more than a month now and I still haven’t written one line of code.

This place – it leads to madness! Really. A team of all new people are put into one office, and we are expected to find out somehow what it is that we must do. We must somehow suss out what the environment is that we need, and plan our sprint accordingly. It’s like starting school, without knowing what the subjects are. Somehow you must just find out, starting from a position of knowing nothing.

Oh, and speak to those people – because they have done classes before. OK, so it’s clear now. Clear as mud.

One step forward: Today we learned that the guy who sets up the environment sits directly adjacent to our office. “You just need to fill in the environment application form.”

When I set up this blog, “the occasional descent into madness” was supposed to be a joke (with a reference to my personal issues and battle with addiction). But it seems to be eerily prophetic.

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Work and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

