Picking up the pieces

It’s chaos around here. Absolute chaos! I hate to harp on about the situation, but wow, I don’t know how bad it would be by now if we hadn’t gotten rid of the guy. The situation was clearly worse than we knew, because he kept the rest of us out of the loop. We now (or at least, our business analyst) is now having to run around and try to find people that should have been introduced to us weeks ago. Meanwhile we are doing plenty damage control for issues caused by our Srum-master–disaster.

If we’d let him continue, this team would certainly end up getting fired. Seriously, the whole team. Take into consideration that this is a team of seven professionals, one Scrum-master, one business analyst, two test analysts, and three developers, with a one year contract. These sorts of contracts are normally renewed and the teams generally remain in place for much longer. That’s a lot of revenue that would have been lost by our employer. A lot. And our employer has a few teams here. Most probably they would all be in trouble, because this would implicate the relationship between the two companies involved.

If this weren’t so serious and I was distanced from it, I would find it funny. Right now, I’m not laughing. In all my years I have never seen anything like this monumental fuck-up.

Looking back at my own mistakes and their consequences, which were serious, that is, several years as a methamphetamine addict, with all the consequences of a tweaker tweaking and not being capable of doing his job properly, not being able to take responsibility for anything and perform as a senior developer should perform, not being able to relate to anybody besides other drug addicts for all that time, and so on, even taking all that into account, I never managed to do as much harm to any company or development team as this one guy managed to do in a single month.

There must be something deeper that is wrong here.

What’s wrong with this picture? Why is a team of seven (OK, now six) people, who are all new, sitting in an office at a company they know nothing about, and being expected to somehow find out what they need to get in order to get the job done, in terms of development tools, environment and so on, as well as to whom they must speak to find out? How did a faker manage to get through the interview process such that he could cause such chaos in the first place?

At the moment, every step of the way involves somebody saying “It’s not a train smash.” Yup, nothing is a train smash, but everything is wrong.

Update: He’s gone!
It was revealed later in the day (by our CEO who paid us a visit) that he did the smart thing and resigned. I think perhaps I over-analyzed this in my mind, reading too much into it when I wrote that there is something deeper wrong here. He mentioned the steps taken in the interview process, and they did nothing wrong. Sometimes bullshitters are good enough to make it the way through, I guess, but they will never get anywhere once on the job. So bullshitters beware! Anyway, if you are so damn clever that you can cheat your way into getting a job without really knowing how to do it, why don’t you rather use your intelligence to learn to do the job? I don’t get it.

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Work and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

