The impediment is on his way out

I feel sad for him though. All this was so unnecessary… Actually that’s an understatement – Bizarre is more like it! There is no way I could even manage to describe all the little things that added up to the final outcome (which came to a head the last couple of days). What it comes down to is the whole team does not trust the guy, at all.

Still, I’ve been on the other side of that fence… I won’t divulge the details, but I screwed up in the past, and went through the process of being suspended, then having a disciplinary hearing with some of my colleagues being called as witnesses against me. It’s not nice. And now I might have to be a witness against him.

But still. He brought it on himself. And this had to happen. It may even be possible that his CV was faked, and nothing he said was true; I can’t be sure. But wow – I have never known of anything quite like this happening in the workplace. This one guy could have taken the whole team down. I think they recruited him from the fucking twilight zone.

Anyway, enough about him… We are now an agile Scrum team with no Scrum-master, but that’s OK. Finally, we will be productive. It’s now May 24th. I started this job on May 2nd, and I have not yet even written one line of code. I think this is some kind of record.

Update

As this day has progressed, I’ve felt progressively less sorry for the guy. There are several key people in the business to whom we should have been introduced, so that we could go forward and do what we need to do. Some of this should have happened weeks ago. As Scrum-master, he should have facilitated this; in fact he was given the information needed, and he withheld it from the team, and was then running around trying to talk to all the people himself (but failing miserably) with the aim to make a name for himself, then giving us the partial information second-hand.

In effect, he did exactly the opposite of what his role as Scrum-master (i.e. facilitator) required.

This is extremely frustrating. Now, as we speak to the relevant parties, it’s clear that we are behind where we need to be. But it would be inappropriate to express why this is so. He is suspended pending a disciplinary hearing. Meanwhile, we look like a bunch of amateurs thanks to him. I now have absolutely no pity for him. Goodbye Sir, and good fucking riddance!

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Work and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

