Inspect and Adapt

I’m posting this to both blogs because it’s a follow-up to my last post, that was published to both.

Things are going much better in the new job, in terms of our team working together. It’s become clear to everyone, even people outside of our team, that the guy with the Scrum-master role has “issues”… mental ones. At first it just seemed that he was over-eager – and there’s nothing wrong with that – but when your eagerness involves making fake phone calls, raising issues about property stolen (which never existed), trying to control the team and micromanage them and giving them unnecessary tasks to perform when your are not their manager, and telling wild pathological lies, then sooner or later, you will be put in your place, which is what’s started to happen.

Now when he rambles on in his verbose way, the same bullshit as yesterday, and every other day, I shut him down, generally with a sentence starting with “I’m getting a feeling of Déjà vu”.

I have to add this as well, because I find it so funny… Race, or colour or creed or whatever you want to call it, should never need to come up in your conversations, aside from being something that you are casually sharing when you’re already friends or at least comfortable with each other. But our dear Scrum-master, who is an Indian fellow, found the need to tell the girls, who are black, “I have black friends”. He then made up some nonsense about everybody knowing him in Soweto. Of course they took serious offense, and found his words insulting. If you need to make up shit to try and prove to people that you are not a racist, you are already in trouble. Don’t make it worse.

As for me, it seems I may be slipping into a bit of a leadership role, which is new ground for me, and I am confident that this job will go well, plus I’m very happy with our team. There’s loads of work coming… This little team alone will be responsible for the debit order system of a major media-supplier and technology company and the market leader on this continent. (Africa) And we’re part of many teams working on the overall project made up of many parts, with all sorts of complicated cross-dependencies. (Basically, the whole system they use for all transactions – everything – is being rewritten, while many more teams are simultaneously also working on the current production system, which is not a frozen code-base.)

To clarify: The Scrum-master is actually not a bad guy, and I don’t dislike him. I’ve been going a little overboard with my sarcasm, getting the rest of the team in stitches, while saying things in front of him (referring to past conversations etc.) and having a laugh at his expense. But from now on, I’m making a conscious effort not to do that anymore. So far it seemed he didn’t know what we were all laughing about, but maybe he’s just putting on a brave face. Maybe he brought some of it on himself, but two wrongs never make a right, and I don’t really want to hurt his feelings.

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

