When idiots have too much power

I love the idea of StackOverflow. It’s a great question and answer site, and while it’s design concept of reputation seems noble, I believe it breaks down at a certain point, because of a couple of factors… common to the problem that the user is, well, human.

  • Human beings are generally stupid.
  • Human beings love to have any little bit of power that they can, and one way that for years has been a cause of dismay in many places on the internet, is any place where the power-seeking human has rights which include any sort of moderation.

I posit that my question on StackOverflow yesterday, closed as off-topic, was not off-topic at all. It related directly to web-programming. I also made it clear that I would change it if it was in any way unsuitable.

I believe that this sort of thing happens because people will, by their nature, abuse such systems, just to have rights that involve moderation and so forth. That is, they will take up hours just doing whatever they can to improve their “reputations”. Real programmers program, they don’t sit waiting to exercise their virtual rights and show their imaginary power over others. These are childish acts of condescension.

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Programming and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

