My thoughts on sharing code

Scott Hanselman wrote an excellent post recently, entitled You are not your code. He makes some good points about not paying too much attention to nasty sarcastic critical comments that developers might like to make about you code.

While I have never had too much negative criticism regarding my code, I can identify with the fear of being received badly, or mocked. I am fortunate to be blessed with multiple gifts: writing (some good stuff there, and also some bad), a creative side that leads to oil painting (also here), and, I’d like to think, a gift for programming, I have always also suffered with both shyness, which is defined as a lack of self-confidence, and also quite paradoxically, excessive pride and arrogance. One might think that multiple gifts is a good thing, but in my case, for years I suffered with such fear of rejection, it led to a fear of actually trying, actually applying myself at all. I’ve thought about writing about it on my other blog but never gotten around to it. That, combined with a habit of getting into relationships with women who used me, led to severe depression and ultimately led me to seek comfort in using drugs, and several years of drug addiction where I lost almost everything. (See here and here.)

So as far as negative criticism goes, I say this: Any criticism that’s not constructive should be ignored. Actual constructive criticism might be good or bad, but it should teach you something, or at the very least, point you in the right direction for you to be able to improve. There are many really bad developers out there. If you have code that solved a problem for you and you feel is worth sharing, you’re probably not one of them. So go ahead, share your code, and fuck the haters.

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Programming and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

