Coming soon – Importing data from Paradox into SQL Server with c#

I was recently tasked with rewriting an ancient hotel booking system used at my employer, that uses paradox data, with a C# application. So, high ho, high ho, off to the web I go, expecting to find a blog presenting a quick and easy way to do so. But no such luck! Most of what I could find was crappy links to crappy sites selling their crap software that promises to convert the paradox data into SQL data. Well, excuse me… It is general knowledge, is it not, that nobody in their right mind pays for such software?

So I present my program, to attempt to fill this little gap, and hopefully save others the time and trouble… Shit. I took the code home last night to update the program, and forgot to copy it back onto the USB to bring back and post today. The program as is (I ran it yesterday) works. It imports all the paradox tables, generates tables in a SQL database, and pulls in all the data. But it needs to be cleaned up before I can share it. That is, it needs to expose stuff like the path to paradox as an editable, configurable, persisting option… etc. So it can also be useable for people who aren’t c# programmers.

I made all those changes at home last night, and then couldn’t test it. (I forgot; my laptop is bust, and my PC doesn’t have SQL server installed.) Hopefully, I will remember to bring the code back to work tomorrow; then share it here. Then hopefully it will be as useful as my post on extracting images from pdf files (apparently my only post that anybody actually reads).

About Jerome

I am a senior C# developer in Johannesburg, South Africa. I am also a recovering addict, who spent nearly eight years using methamphetamine. I write on my recovery blog about my lessons learned and sometimes give advice to others who have made similar mistakes, often from my viewpoint as an atheist, and I also write some C# programming articles on my programming blog.
This entry was posted in Programming and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

